My angry gut, fermentation…

I’ve had issues with my gut for many years now. It all started as a baby not being able to digest dairy or soy. My older brother totally traumatized my mother with breastfeeding, so she didn’t with me and put me on formula. Due to my intolerances she had to buy some expensive stuff that had neither soy or dairy in it. I eventually “grew out” of the lactose intolerance and was able to enjoy things like ice cream and soft cheese without issues, in small doses anyways. I don’t think I’d do well if I drank a lite of milk in a day. I bloody hate milk anyways…it’s yukky 😛

no-milk

Today, dairy really isn’t an issue. As I recall, I don’t think I had issues with any other food for the rest of my childhood. I seemed to be able to eat anything with out problems. Things started to happen when I was around 20ish. I’d get really bloated, gassy, and my intestines seemed angry, gurgling away while trying to digest something. I suffered from Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

In the past couple of years or so I’ve been fermenting. Mostly beverages, like water and milk kefir, kombucha, and natural sodas using ginger bug. I also have made sauerkraut, and a sourdough bread. Speaking of bread, I don’t do well with wheat…I’ll talk about that in a bit. Ginger bug is pretty awesome. I used this recipe here ginger bug. I made a strawberry soda before and it was amazing. Not sure which recipe, but this looks close..and I used the ginger bug in this recipe strawberry soda

gingerbug

Apparently drinking wine on a daily basis doesn’t quite cut it. It’s fermented! I love wine. I’ve always loved wine…I used to sip from my Dad’s glass at the dinner table when I was little. I even drank juice out of wine glasses to pretend. Wine…that’s another post lol

younglinswineglass

The last couple of weeks my insides have been giving me grief and I’m not sure the culprit. I made a veggie chowder last week that made me feel 5 mo preggo. Not sure what the hell was going on there as I’ve had it before, and all the ingredients are staples in my diet. I think I reacted to portobello mushrooms the other week, and that makes me sad….very sad 😦 So, I’m back to fermenting to increase the healthy gut flora hoping to see a difference.

mushroomlunch
my beautiful lunch

Right now I’m pretty excited to be making apple cider vinegar! It’s been sitting in a cupboard for almost two weeks now…it’s bubbling away and starting to get cloudy…stinkin’ like vinegar too. Basically it’s apples sitting in sugar water for a few weeks. I found this recipe on Pinterest. I fucking love Pinterest. make apple cider vinegar

applecidervinegar

So! Me and Wheat aren’t always friends. Sometimes we get along, sometimes we fight…and the wheat usually leaves me in a pretty bad state. I have gone totally gluten free before, but I find things like Spelt and Rye don’t bother me, and they’re not 100% gluten free grains. I’m going to write a whole new post about this later. I have many recipes to share and more to discuss on this topic.

Anyways, that’s my gut story, and my fermentation experiments.

Leave a Reply

